Got an iPhone? Check out this cool camera app…

Mattebox.   For 4 bucks you can turn it into a camera based on the legendary Konica Hexar AF of old.   (I used Konica 35mm SLR equipment for many years in the film days,  still have it.)   This is pretty impressive.  The functionality looks to be nothing short of incredible, but…

I don’t have an iPhone (sigh) ….. although,  I would surely be trying this app if I did.   Some folks are turning out amazing feats for this device with their programming skills.

However,  even if you don’t have the Steve Jobs thingy,  any digital photo buff should pay attention.    Why?  Because it portends what could happen if camera makers start sharing what goes on inside their magic boxes.    (doubtful;)

Check it out:

The world's most advanced mobile camera software.

Screen shot

Be sure to watch the video on Vimeo here:

http://vimeo.com/29450263

And here’s the whole skinny on the developer,  Ben Syverson’s site:

http://mattebox.com/iphone/camera/index.html

My guess is you’re gonna’ be downloading this ….    if you have an iPhone, that is.

If you’re lucky enough to be able to try it,  please comment back to me (and site readers) on your experience.

Happy hunting with your new camera,  wish I could be there with ‘ya,  maybe someday..

KB

ps.  Credit where it’s due…I first saw this on Mike Johnston’s site,  The Online Photographer (there’s a permalink on my sidebar,  always has been).

2 comments on “Got an iPhone? Check out this cool camera app…

  1. I just watched the video from your link. Wow, this is a pretty cool app. Even better, I got onto my android and searched the market. Good new, it’s available for android devices too. It costs $4.99 and has a bunch of extra features you can add for an extra $.99 each.

Leave a comment